Research notes for the "solar system builder" guide (homeowners and DIYers). Compiled 16/08/2026. Every factual claim carries a source URL. Anything that could not be confirmed against a primary or official source is marked UNVERIFIED. Prices are NZD. Times/dates are NZ.
Legend for source quality: - [primary] legislation, Code, regulator, distributor or retailer page read directly. - [secondary] trade press, comparison sites, installer blogs. Use for colour, not for hard claims.
| EDB | ≤10 kW process and fee | Export limit | Inverter list | Timeframes / post-install |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wellington Electricity | Online application; fee "Application Fee <10kW connection size: $100" and "Fee for Inspection <10kW connection size: $60". [primary] https://www.welectricity.co.nz/getting-connected/generating-your-own-electricity | From 11/05/2026 "flexible export limits": price signals lower injection back to a 5 kW baseline during congestion, up to 10 kW otherwise; WE told the EA it is "not currently considering a default export limit of 10kW (or greater)". [primary] https://www.welectricity.co.nz/getting-connected/generating-your-own-electricity/small-systems-with-capacity-of-10-kilowatts-or-less-10kw ; https://www.welectricity.co.nz/disclosures/submissions/electricity-authority/document/421 | Requires "Declaration of Conformity with AS/NZS4777.2:2020" and refers to the Clean Energy Council approved list. [primary] https://www.welectricity.co.nz/getting-connected/generating-your-own-electricity | After install, email the ROI and CoC. [primary] same |
| Vector (Auckland) | Email application to [email protected] with address, ICP and export amount; page states no fee (none listed). [primary] https://vector.co.nz/our-services/connect-your-distributed-power-generation/connect-power-generation---10kw-or-less | From 11/05/2026 "Dynamic DG export connections" let eligible single-phase customers export up to 10 kW; inverter must meet AS/NZS 4777.2 and be CSIP-capable. [primary] same | "Check your inverter is approved and compliant using our approved list"; otherwise supply datasheet + Certificate of Suitability. Approval "10 business days (approved inverters) or 30 business days (non-approved)". [primary] same | CoC "within 10 working days after installation" referencing AS/NZS 4777.1 and AS/NZS 3000. [primary] same |
| Orion (Christchurch) | Online portal, fee payable before processing; $92 incl GST for <15 kW (search-index figure from Orion's page; UNVERIFIED against a fee schedule read directly). [primary process] https://www.oriongroup.co.nz/connections/generation/under-15kw | From 01/04/2026 new and existing installs "will be able to apply for an increased export limit"; Orion "intends to allow export at or above 10kW per phase" where studies show capacity, case-by-case. [primary] https://www.oriongroup.co.nz/our-story/the-latest/export-limits | Inverter must conform to AS/NZS 4777.2; pre-approved list speeds approval; new list from 01/04/2026. [primary] same two pages | Submit CoC + ROI within 10 working days; "You must not energise your generation system until Orion has acknowledged receipt of these documents". [primary] https://www.oriongroup.co.nz/connections/generation/under-15kw |
| Powerco | Installer submits DG application; "Up to 10kW: No charge"; 10 to 100 kW $500 excl GST. [primary] https://www.powerco.co.nz/get-connected/solar-power-for-home-and-business | Single-phase export "increased from 5kW to 10kW", subject to transformer capacity. [primary] same | "must use an approved inverter". [primary] same | Assessment "within five working days"; CoC + Commissioning Declaration after install; customer arranges metering with retailer. [primary] same |
| Unison (Hawke's Bay, Rotorua, Taupō) | DG1 form by email/post; fees from 01/11/2024: application/admin $140 excl GST, deficiency $110, inspection $90. [primary] https://www.unison.co.nz/tell-me-about/electricity/solar-distributed-generation/dg-equipment-of-10-kw-or-less/ | Up to 10 kW single-phase, "the actual amount able to be exported ... will always depend on the available capacity"; no export charges. [primary] same | AS/NZS 4777 parts 1 and 2; check the Clean Energy Council list; non-listed inverters need pre-approval. [primary] same | Acknowledgement within 2 business days; retailer supplies two-way meter and may move you to a DGEN rate category. [primary] same |
Note on the Unison fee: $140 exceeds the $100 Part 1A cap but is under the $200 Part 1 cap, so it appears to be charged under Part 1. UNVERIFIED which pathway Unison's DG1 form uses.
Rates move often; the retailer page is the source of truth. All are c/kWh. GST basis noted where the retailer states it.
| Retailer | Rate(s) | Conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Meridian | Open-term plans (Freedom, Night Saver): 15c standard; 24c winter peak (July to September, 7 to 10 am and 5 to 9 pm) paid as a separate 9c credit by the 10th business day of the following month. Fixed-term Bach/EV plans: 12c. Rates exclude GST. | Communicating smart meter needed for peak rate; variable rate. | [primary] https://www.meridianenergy.co.nz/for-home/pricing-rates/solar |
| Powershop (Meridian brand) | 13c year-round, no export cap; 23c winter peak weekdays 7 to 11 am and 5 to 9 pm, July to September. GST basis not stated. | Communicating smart meter for peak; $150 sign-up credit. | [primary] https://www.powershop.co.nz/solar |
| Flick | Brand discontinued after Meridian's purchase (transaction completed July 2025; $70m, ~41,000 customers). Customers moved to Meridian plans. | [primary] https://www.meridianenergy.co.nz/help/flick-faq ; [secondary] https://www.consumer.org.nz/home-and-living/home-energy/flick-electric-sale-to-meridian-what-to-do-if-you-re-a-customer | |
| Contact | Publishes no export rate on its solar page; "Good Charge" plan pays "a higher buy back rate during peak usage times (between 7-9am and 6-10pm weekdays)". Rate figures reported by comparison sites (8c standard) are UNVERIFIED against a Contact page. | Prices by address. | [primary] https://contact.co.nz/personal/electricity/solar ; [secondary] https://solarscout.co.nz/solar-guides/buy-back-rates-nz/ |
| Genesis | "12.5c/kWh (excluding GST) for home and business connections". | Flat rate. | [primary] https://www.genesisenergy.co.nz/help/faqs/what-is-the-buyback-rate |
| Frank (Genesis brand) | "We credit 12.5 cents per kWh for every eligible exported kWh. This credit is shown before GST." | Systems ≤50 kW; net export only; export-capable meter. | [primary] https://help.frankenergy.co.nz/en/articles/7881587-what-is-a-buy-back-rate |
| Mercury | Flat Rates plan 11.1c. Flex Rates plan: winter (1 May to 30 Sep) peak 20.38c (7 to 11 am, 5 to 9:30 pm), off-peak 15.75c; summer peak 10.44c, off-peak 9.17c. Rates exclude GST; differ on some networks (e.g. Orion). +6.9c for 2 years with a Harrisons Solar install. | [primary] https://www.mercury.co.nz/solar | |
| Octopus | OctopusFlexi (≤10 kW): 19c peak / 14c other times (Northpower and Top Energy: 17c/12c). OctopusPeaker (≤20 kW, battery households): 23c peak / 10c other (Northpower/Top Energy 21c/8c). Peak = weekdays 7 to 11 am and 5 to 9 pm. GST basis not stated. Credit balances paid out to a bank account at most once a year after 12 months as a customer. | [primary] https://octopusenergy.nz/solar-and-battery ; https://octopusenergy.nz/octopuspeaker | |
| Ecotricity | ecoSOLAR: "peak buyback rate of 21c/kWh", off-peak export 16c; import 18c low user / 17c standard; no fixed contract. GST basis and peak window not stated on the page. | [primary] https://ecotricity.co.nz/solar | |
| Electric Kiwi | MoveMaster: "23c/kWh solar buy back rate and 11.5c/kWh off-peak (incl GST)"; off-peak window 11 pm to 7 am. Comparison sites quote different figures (8c to 20c) so UNVERIFIED which figure applies to which plan; ask for it in writing. | [primary] https://www.electrickiwi.co.nz/solar |
Regulatory changes affecting export pricing: - From 01/04/2026 distributors must pay rebates (negative charges) to households and small businesses (connection ≤45 kVA, export ≤45 kW) injecting at peak times, under an amendment to clause 12A.7 of the Code (Energy Competition Task Force 2A). [primary] https://www.ea.govt.nz/code-and-compliance/code-amendments/injection-payment-requirements-amendment/ ; https://www.ea.govt.nz/news/general-news/decision-paper-on-small-business-eligibility-for-export-rebates-released/ - From 01/07/2026 retailers with ≥5% market share must offer at least one time-of-use consumption plan and "at least one 'time-varying' rate for power they buy from people with solar and battery systems"; no minimum export rate is set. [primary] https://www.ea.govt.nz/projects/all/energy-competition-task-force/consultation/new-ways-to-power-electricity-consumers/ - Consumer NZ Powerswitch keeps a retailer buy-back table (rates "excluding GST", updated June 2026) but notes "Solar rates are not included in the Powerswitch estimates". The table itself is rendered client-side and was not readable here. [primary page] https://www.powerswitch.org.nz/solar-rates - UNVERIFIED / conflicting secondary data: Solar Scout (updated 12/07/2026) and Selectra (11/05/2026) publish tables that disagree with each other and with several retailer pages (e.g. Selectra lists Mercury 5c and Electric Kiwi 8c; Solar Scout lists Octopus 40c winter Peaker). Do not republish those numbers without checking the retailer page on the day. https://solarscout.co.nz/solar-guides/buy-back-rates-nz/ ; https://selectra.nz/energy/electricity-prices/best-power-company-for-solar-buy-back